Sleepy Forest WIP

Original: 14th Oct, 2011

After doing some shorter, quicker forest paintings for practise, I’ve now moved onto a larger painting as a challenge to test what I’ve learned! Here are some progress images:


I’d drawn a smallish sketch to start, then I enlarged it and scribbled the rough colours over it. I did this last night before I went to bed.


I pulled up some references and decided I wasn’t entirely happy with the colour of the grass, so I scribbled over that with some more orangey colours. Refined the rocks a bit and started drawing branches on trees! Also turned that orange blob to the left into something. Sort of.


And I started painting foliage on the trees. I don’t like how empty the space at the bottom of the canvas is, so I hope I can think of some way to use it.

And I don’t know if I have time to get much further on it until tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

