Fancy-Furred, Long-Eared Gryphon

Original: 22nd Jan, 2011

On a whim, I decided to scribble something into Photoshop which I assumed I was going to just leave as a sketch and not bother going anywhere with, but instead of doing that exact thing, I just… continued. And now it’s this:

It’s not finished yet (obviously), but I’m pleased with how it’s turning out. I’ve always had a lot of trouble drawing fur, but I think I’m finally starting to get a feel for it. I could be doing better with the fur, but I’m doing better than I would have expected myself to do (I seem to have been impressing myself quite a bit lately in this way…)

Maybe I could make a fur tutorial of sorts soon… Or something. I don’t know. Either way, all the colour of that gryphon is on a single layer, the green background is on a layer of its own. It’s easier to *just paint* than it is to bugger around with layers, getting them mixed up and so on, since I seem to do that often.

I’m taking a break now due to wrist-stiffness, but uh… will get back to it soon! Ohyes!

Edit 1:13am: And now it looks like this:

The wings have been a pain, especially since I didn’t plan them very well and wasn’t sure how to approach them. I’m not really fond of their appearance currently, but I don’t think I want to spend loads of time trying to adjust them. I might give it a simple background of sorts tomorrow and do some other adjustments perhaps, but uh… it’s time for sleeping now.

Leave a Reply

